My first SPAM exploitation - aojudy@gmail.com

This one is from aojudy@gmail.com, apparently of lowest-rate-loans.com, who identified themselves as CASTILLOLauren. Here's their message:

Every body remembers that men's life is very expensive, nevertheless people need cash for various issues and not every man gets enough money. Hence to get fast mortgage loans or just student loan will be a correct way out.

Nice grammar. Anyway, here's this person's (and/or thing's) info:

IP Address City State Country
194.44.171.14 Lviv L'vivs'ka Oblast' Ukraine (UA)
Provider   Hostname  
UARNet   ip14-171.44.194.dan.net.ua  
jer's picture

Sure -- lots of ideas! What

Sure -- lots of ideas!
What are you doing/using that's not working? (e.g. what do you do to "block them as spam"?)

Anonymous's picture

What software do you run your

What software do you run your site with?

Doug Wilson's picture

Was looking through webmaster

Was looking through webmaster links and found a bunch of these -  diariodaputarai.com/a903498-solving-problems.cfm -   diariodaputarai, is a parked domain, solving problems is my blog post. I guess the a903498 would be something like page number or cat etc. Anyway I have a gob of these showing up. To me they are crap sites set up for adsense. I'm not sure what to do about it/them. Or how they might effect a website...

Srinivas Rao 's picture

I just did a google search

I just did a google search about this spammer and came across you. I've been getting hit by this spammer every single day too. I seriously want to figure out how to stop them. Even why I block them as spam theyir comments still get through. Any ideas?

Dave's picture

Wife had the same spam from

Wife had the same spam from our non-profit website.  Kinda pisses you off.

jer's picture

Bwaha ha ha ha! LOL. Yeah,

Bwaha ha ha ha!

LOL.

Yeah, that's (one of the many reasons) why I prefer Drupal over Wordpress... But that's a whole different story altogether.

Regarding the plugin thing -- I'm sure there's one out there. That would actually be a pretty simple one to do, I think. If you really can't find one let me know and I'll put one together for you.  :)

Just checked out your site -- Studiopress? Either way, looks good!

Jill McKeever's picture

I have this very same spammer

I have this very same spammer right now.  They hit my site every other day, and it's been going on for about a month.  I WISH Wordpress had a plugin that gave me the power to block specific email addresses.  Then I could be rid of them all!  Bwaha ha ha ha!
I was out searching on this spammer's address and came across your post.  I just had to stop in and share.
Have fun today!

jer's picture

OH no. No. The bombardment is

OH no. No. The bombardment is almost inevitable, but it sounds like you already know that. :) This was just the first time I've tried to turn the tables and take the time to exploit the information about the spammer so that hopefully the word will spread to other people -- apparently it worked!
 
I, too, have seen this email address on more than one occasion... Maybe that's why it stood out to me so much.  Oh and yes (Drupal).

Doug Wilson's picture

That's your first? What are

That's your first? What are you doing right? I was just heading to one of my blogs to delete a new subscriber that I thought I recognized I googled it to make sure and your link was at the top of the page. I'm sure I've seen this spam address at least a couple of times. I haven't looked I guess this is a Drupal platform? Is that the reason you're not being bombarded? Well, I gotta go bonk the spammer which I have to do about three times a day.